1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Vista Skin for XP!!!!

Discussion in 'The Bin' started by Iced_Bullet, Oct 9, 2007.

  1. Iced_Bullet

    Iced_Bullet Cheese=Milk's Death Route

    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Here it is :p

    I haven't made this from scratch, I just downloaded it from http://www.crystalxp.net/galerie/en.id.130.htm

    And if mods feel this is breaching MS copyright then please delete. But the creator of the thread has given this out for free, so I'm not breaching their copyrights :)

    You even get an Opera singer sing when you log in and out hehe!


    Names were faded on log-in screen for security reasons :)

    http://i149.photobucket.com/albums/s79/IcedBullet/desktop3.jpg

    http://i149.photobucket.com/albums/s79/IcedBullet/Desktop1.jpg

    http://i149.photobucket.com/albums/s79/IcedBullet/desktop2.jpg
     
  2. khevolution

    khevolution Most likely To Hit a Tree

    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    i've had that skin running on my XP for a while now, only problem is my comp is rather slow, so i rarely use the Alt+Tab function

    but it does look the business
     
  3. Baldy

    Baldy Wibble Wobble

    Messages:
    5,811
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    is there a link to the download please
     
  4. khevolution

    khevolution Most likely To Hit a Tree

    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
  5. Iced_Bullet

    Iced_Bullet Cheese=Milk's Death Route

    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Yeah It does slow the computer down quite a bit ... but the look is worth the extra 3 secs when you right click tehe ;)

    And yes, that is the link to the one I'm using :)

    I only use it on ym work computer, not my gaming one, as I think it'd bugger up my TDU playing :p I just loooove the look, as you've probably guessed xD
     
  6. Diablo

    Diablo Administrator
    tduck team Admin

    Messages:
    20,819
    Wow +rep, thanks for showing me this mate, it looks stunning and after a bit of customisation it's running fairly smooth on my system. Wish I could find that wallpaper on the login screen though, I want that for my desktop wallpaper.
     
  7. Iced_Bullet

    Iced_Bullet Cheese=Milk's Death Route

    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #7 Iced_Bullet, Oct 9, 2007
    Last edited by Iced_Bullet: Oct 9, 2007
  8. Mb

    Mb The Photographer

    Messages:
    8,136
    Location:
    Eindhoven, Netherlands
  9. Iced_Bullet

    Iced_Bullet Cheese=Milk's Death Route

    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Download, un-zip, and install :)

    p.s. Thanks Diablo for the rep, as I'm now second most repped ever :p and this has seriously annouyed Sped rofl!

    p.p.s. Diablo, i found the wallpaper you're looking for at a smalle res in my previous post.

    p.p.p.s you'll be able to mix the 2 pictures (plus you're print screened one) and you can have the backgound with no names :)
     
  10. Mb

    Mb The Photographer

    Messages:
    8,136
    Location:
    Eindhoven, Netherlands
    Yes i installed it, but how do i change my bars to Vista style?
     
  11. Diablo

    Diablo Administrator
    tduck team Admin

    Messages:
    20,819
  12. Iced_Bullet

    Iced_Bullet Cheese=Milk's Death Route

    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Oh :)

    Right click on desktop > properties > appearance > Vista Inspirant 2 (or similar) as I don't knwo the exact path for Dutch :)

    Then you might have to do a system restart I've forgotten.





    And I like the opera singer you get when you log-off :p
     
  13. Baldy

    Baldy Wibble Wobble

    Messages:
    5,811
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    cool, just installed it and it works perfectly and it does require a restart, but it's worth it.
     
  14. Mb

    Mb The Photographer

    Messages:
    8,136
    Location:
    Eindhoven, Netherlands
    Ohyeah, that looks awesome after a rebooth! :D
     
  15. Diablo

    Diablo Administrator
    tduck team Admin

    Messages:
    20,819
    Here is how my desktop looks and will stay for a while. :)

    This is the kind of thing I have always wanted, a more professional looking workspace, makes me want to get to work now. Thanks Iced for the headsup and when I get a chance of some spare cash I'll be sending some to the creators for doing such an amazing job!

    Just noticed I can clean up my quick launch also.

    [+] Updated attachment.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Iced_Bullet

    Iced_Bullet Cheese=Milk's Death Route

    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    HAHA you've added loads to the thing at the top!!! haha mustof taken a while to do lol! Did you make those images, or use google images for the extra logos? :)

    And crap, you have loads on your quick start thing! I don't have any ;)

    E: do you know how to keep the top thing there when you press "'windows' + D" to get to dektop?
     
  17. Mb

    Mb The Photographer

    Messages:
    8,136
    Location:
    Eindhoven, Netherlands
    That's mine now :)
    -- OLD IMAGE REMOVED (xs.to) --

    + Rep for De IJzige kogel :+
     
  18. Iced_Bullet

    Iced_Bullet Cheese=Milk's Death Route

    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Thanks for the rep :)
     
  19. Diablo

    Diablo Administrator
    tduck team Admin

    Messages:
    20,819
    I used the link it takes you to when you look for more icons. :)

    Regarding the Dock I have reduced it's size slightly and moved it down so it's not right on the verge on going off screen. One thing to note, if like me you use the Show Desktop shortcut (Windows + D) or click the icon then the Dock will disappear so either put it to 'Always be on top' or, just click on the Config icon and select 'Off' then 'On' again to bring it back. I do not have the active program showing in the Dock as that seems to eat some nice memory and tbh the usual taskbar buttons do me just fine.

    Loving the transparency, the icons and the sounds. Basically it's Mac which tbh is not a bad thing at all !

    [+] Updated above attachment to reflect changes.
     
  20. Iced_Bullet

    Iced_Bullet Cheese=Milk's Death Route

    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Yeah Ill see how it goes from now with it up :)

    Plus I found a feature which means when you roll over the place where it is (for my the top bar of any window) it pops up to the front. So now I dont even have to 'windows + D' now :p

    + the mac bit - definately yes!
     
    #20 Iced_Bullet, Oct 9, 2007
    Last edited by Iced_Bullet: Oct 9, 2007

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Started back in 2007, our community has been around for a good while and throughout all this time our core focus has been to provide a fun and laid back place for the discussion of driving and racing games and gaming in general, along with freqent automotive and motorsport related chat too. So, no matter what style of player you are, from arcade thrills to hardcore sim-racer or free roam explorer to circuit hot lapper, if it's about driving or racing in some form then we're up for talking about it. And if you are a keen photo moder, virtual photographer, video creator or streamer, then feel free to share those too. Cheers!
  • Support our community!

    Running and maintaining a community like this is hard work, especially when it's done by a bunch of idiots! And so, if you enjoy visiting here and would like to help us out. We would really appreciate it! Thanks.

    Feed the duck!