Page 1 of 2 12 Last
Results 1 to 20 of 39

  1. T3hReaper91 is offline Car Aficianado
     
    Location: England
    Posts: 2,975

    #1

    Default Help With Pc Upgrade!!!

    Ok Guys i am looking at upgrading my pc in the near future but unsure on the motherboard and RAM i should get.

    I am getting:
    AMD HDZ940XCGIBOX Phenom Ii X4 940 Black Edition Quad-core Processor

    So the motherboard will need to support that CPU.

    I would like the motherboard to have the ability to have 8gb of ram but would only like to have 4gb of ram to start of with.

    I Am not upgrading my graphics card or anything else.

    Also if you know where to get fans for a antec 900 case then that would also be very usefull. i have blue fans atm but woul love to get a different colour set.

    CPU: AMD FX8350 x8 Black Edition 4.2Ghz O/C 4.6Ghz Cooler: Corsair Hydro H100i GPU: 2x MSI Geforce GTX 770 Gaming Edition 4Gb SLI
    Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX Memory: 16Gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz Case: Corsair Graphite 600T Special Edition White
    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Microphone: AT2020 Mouse: Logitech G9x Keyboard: Logitech G910

    Youtube


  2. macd79 is offline Chuck Norris
    Location: Glasgow, Scotland.
    Posts: 531

    #2

    Default

    your current motherboard should support that cpu. check for a bios upgrade you may be surprised

    if it doesn't support it i would recommend switching to Intel cpus and motherboards
    you will get better performance for the same price as a phenom II or have you already bought it?

    do you require sli capability on the mobo?

    as for the antec fans they are just antec tri cool fans and you should be able to find them on www.scan.co.uk
    Last edited by macd79; 12/01/09 at 15:36 PM.

    E8400 @ 4.34GHz | HD4870 @ 790/4400 | Corsair XMS2 4GB | Asus P5Q-E | Corsair 750W PSU | Antec 1200 | WD 320 SE16 | G25 | G15 | G9x |

  3. T3hReaper91 is offline Car Aficianado
     
    Location: England
    Posts: 2,975

    #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by macd79 »
    your current motherboard should support that cpu. check for a bios upgrade you may be surprised

    if it doesn't support it i would recommend switching to Intel cpus and motherboards
    you will get better performance for the same price as a phenom II or have you already bought it?

    do you require sli capability on the mobo?

    as for the antec fans they are just antec tri cool fans and you should be able to find them on www.scan.co.uk
    I havent yet bought that cpu but already looked and found my motherboard wont support it.

    Also i would never switch to intel i prefer amd. AMD is half the price of the 3ghz intel quad core for the same thing and especially as intel use amd technology especially in there older cpu.

    CPU: AMD FX8350 x8 Black Edition 4.2Ghz O/C 4.6Ghz Cooler: Corsair Hydro H100i GPU: 2x MSI Geforce GTX 770 Gaming Edition 4Gb SLI
    Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX Memory: 16Gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz Case: Corsair Graphite 600T Special Edition White
    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Microphone: AT2020 Mouse: Logitech G9x Keyboard: Logitech G910

    Youtube

  4. macd79 is offline Chuck Norris
    Location: Glasgow, Scotland.
    Posts: 531

    #4

    Default

    the Q6600 performs about the same as the phenom and is cheaper but nvm im not trying to convert you just saving you monies

    best board for am2 is foxconn destroyer or the foxconn A7DA-S

    E8400 @ 4.34GHz | HD4870 @ 790/4400 | Corsair XMS2 4GB | Asus P5Q-E | Corsair 750W PSU | Antec 1200 | WD 320 SE16 | G25 | G15 | G9x |

  5. T3hReaper91 is offline Car Aficianado
     
    Location: England
    Posts: 2,975

    #5

    Default

    Just Found:

    Motherboard:
    Asrock K10N780SLIX3-WiFi 780a SLI Sockel AM2+

    RAM:
    Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 XMS2 Dominator Memory Xtreme Performance Kit with Fan CL5 2.1 V

    CPU: AMD FX8350 x8 Black Edition 4.2Ghz O/C 4.6Ghz Cooler: Corsair Hydro H100i GPU: 2x MSI Geforce GTX 770 Gaming Edition 4Gb SLI
    Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX Memory: 16Gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz Case: Corsair Graphite 600T Special Edition White
    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Microphone: AT2020 Mouse: Logitech G9x Keyboard: Logitech G910

    Youtube

  6. SLRRR is offline Ace
    Location: unknown
    Posts: 2,257

    #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by T3hReaper »
    Just Found:

    Motherboard:
    Asrock K10N780SLIX3-WiFi 780a SLI Sockel AM2+

    RAM:
    Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 XMS2 Dominator Memory Xtreme Performance Kit with Fan CL5 2.1 V

    yep i should go for 2x2GB ram. Motherboard sounds also good



  7. T3hReaper91 is offline Car Aficianado
     
    Location: England
    Posts: 2,975

    #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLRRR »
    yep i should go for 2x2GB ram. Motherboard sounds also good
    Wont use the wifi on it but it comes with it so it can just stay disabled

    CPU: AMD FX8350 x8 Black Edition 4.2Ghz O/C 4.6Ghz Cooler: Corsair Hydro H100i GPU: 2x MSI Geforce GTX 770 Gaming Edition 4Gb SLI
    Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX Memory: 16Gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz Case: Corsair Graphite 600T Special Edition White
    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Microphone: AT2020 Mouse: Logitech G9x Keyboard: Logitech G910

    Youtube

  8. Nodz86 is offline ____________
     
    Location: Essex, England
    Posts: 3,209

    #8

    Default

    I have that RAM and it works a treat, the fan is a pain to dort out as you have to bolt the bracket onto the fan, then clip it over the RAM but it all works well.

  9. T3hReaper91 is offline Car Aficianado
     
    Location: England
    Posts: 2,975

    #9

    Default

    ok thanks nodz

    wont be getting it for a month or more.

    CPU: AMD FX8350 x8 Black Edition 4.2Ghz O/C 4.6Ghz Cooler: Corsair Hydro H100i GPU: 2x MSI Geforce GTX 770 Gaming Edition 4Gb SLI
    Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX Memory: 16Gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz Case: Corsair Graphite 600T Special Edition White
    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Microphone: AT2020 Mouse: Logitech G9x Keyboard: Logitech G910

    Youtube

  10. SLRRR is offline Ace
    Location: unknown
    Posts: 2,257

    #10

    Default

    btw that processor, damm... that's a very good one it beats the i7 (920) in some tests



  11. macd79 is offline Chuck Norris
    Location: Glasgow, Scotland.
    Posts: 531

    #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLRRR »
    btw that processor, damm... that's a very good one it beats the i7 (920) in some tests
    wha?? its nowhere near an i7 in anything. Its a similar speed to a Q6600

    E8400 @ 4.34GHz | HD4870 @ 790/4400 | Corsair XMS2 4GB | Asus P5Q-E | Corsair 750W PSU | Antec 1200 | WD 320 SE16 | G25 | G15 | G9x |

  12. Camel is offline Legendary Classic
      
    Posts: 11,510

    #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLRRR »
    btw that processor, damm... that's a very good one it beats the i7 (920) in some tests
    And you can get stable overclocks upto 3.8GHz with the stock cooler, and over 6GHz with liquid nitrogen lol

  13. The Queen is offline <3 Ferrari F50
     
    Location: Dundee, Scotland
    Posts: 5,220

    #13

    Default

    Sounds good. If you are an AMD person then don't switch to intel just because someone told you so. It's your choice and we can only suggest.

  14. kalniel is offline Hypercar Enthusiast
    Location: uk
    Posts: 571

    #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by macd79 »
    wha?? its nowhere near an i7 in anything. Its a similar speed to a Q6600
    It beats the i7 920 in some tasks, certainly.



    But overall it's a bit slower, albeit a lot cheaper.

  15. Camel is offline Legendary Classic
      
    Posts: 11,510

    #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheScottishSpotter »
    Sounds good. If you are an AMD person then don't switch to intel just because someone told you so. It's your choice and we can only suggest.
    Exactly, it's down to personal preference, not what just one or two people say.

  16. T3hReaper91 is offline Car Aficianado
     
    Location: England
    Posts: 2,975

    #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Limp Fire Hose »
    And you can get stable overclocks upto 3.8GHz with the stock cooler, and over 6GHz with liquid nitrogen lol
    I will be using the stock cooler to begin with but dont think i will overclock that much if at all might go to 3.2 or 3.4

    CPU: AMD FX8350 x8 Black Edition 4.2Ghz O/C 4.6Ghz Cooler: Corsair Hydro H100i GPU: 2x MSI Geforce GTX 770 Gaming Edition 4Gb SLI
    Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX Memory: 16Gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz Case: Corsair Graphite 600T Special Edition White
    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Microphone: AT2020 Mouse: Logitech G9x Keyboard: Logitech G910

    Youtube

  17. SLRRR is offline Ace
    Location: unknown
    Posts: 2,257

    #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by macd79 »
    wha?? its nowhere near an i7 in anything. Its a similar speed to a Q6600

    Dream on


    It really beats the i7 with some programs. And it's alott cheaper, because you dont have to buy a new mobo & ram

    You could also buy also a Ati/AMD chipset & videocard.
    http://game.amd.com/us-en/unlock_sevenseries.aspx

    Because you can get a real performance boost with programs for it. (from Ati/AMD offcourse)



  18. T3hReaper91 is offline Car Aficianado
     
    Location: England
    Posts: 2,975

    #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLRRR »
    Dream on


    It really beats the i7 with some programs. And it's alott cheaper, because you dont have to buy a new mobo & ram

    You could also buy also a Ati/AMD chipset & videocard.
    http://game.amd.com/us-en/unlock_sevenseries.aspx

    Because you can get a real performance boost with programs for it. (from Ati/AMD offcourse)
    But i need a new mobo and ram anyway cuz ma mobo dont support am2+ socket

    CPU: AMD FX8350 x8 Black Edition 4.2Ghz O/C 4.6Ghz Cooler: Corsair Hydro H100i GPU: 2x MSI Geforce GTX 770 Gaming Edition 4Gb SLI
    Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX Memory: 16Gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz Case: Corsair Graphite 600T Special Edition White
    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Microphone: AT2020 Mouse: Logitech G9x Keyboard: Logitech G910

    Youtube

  19. SLRRR is offline Ace
    Location: unknown
    Posts: 2,257

    #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by T3hReaper »
    But i need a new mobo and ram anyway cuz ma mobo dont support am2+ socket
    yep, but you dont have to buy all that expensive stuff for the i7. mobo + ram + i7 920 = around 750 Euro in holland

    But maybe something to look after, those Ati chipsets



  20. iBilo is offline ;)
     
    Location: UK
    Posts: 2,119

    #20

    Default

    Just wanna ask a quick question, why do you prefer AMD over Intel? Just wondering.



 
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

about us

  • turboduck is a community that is dedicated to driving and racing games of all types on all platforms. Whether it's ticking off the miles/kilometres while exploring an open world, crashing and exploding everything in an insane balls-to-the-wall arcade racer, or nailing down every apex and trimming off every tenth possible in authentic sim-racing. It's all up for discussion as we enjoy the virtual cars, bikes, and everything else that these games offer. So join us, jump into the discussions, and don't think too much about why a 'duck' is our mascot. ;)
turboduck twitter turboduck facebook turboduck youtube turboduck twitter turboduck rss